28 December, 2012…

It was just before Thanksgiving, 1981…I received a call from the offices of the Pennsylvania Department of Transportation…I’m sure that at that time, I didn’t realize what a blessing it was to get that interview, but I can remember how happy my Mum was about it!…I took the interview, and got the job…my first day was a very cold day, January 18th, 1982…one of the first orders of business there was to “buy back” the year that I had worked at Crooked Creek State Park…that time would eventually be counted toward my retirement[thanks Janice!]…

So, after thirty-one years of plowing snow in the winter, and running a grader in the summer[the first several years were as a flagman/laborer], I have grown weary of it, and have chosen to take an early retirement…

Of course at 51, I don’t plan to be idle, so you could probably call it a “career change”, but whatever you choose to call it, when it’s snowing in the morning, rest assured, it will be a welcome change, knowing that I can set here by the fire and look out the window, without worrying about the phone ringing…I’m trading in my snow plow for a snow shovel!

 

"My new plow"

“My new plow”

I understand now what a blessing it was to have a good job with good benefits for over thirty years…I made many, many friends in those thirty-one years, and some of those friendships will carry on[literally] in the days to come…I’m looking forward to spending some time with a few of my “already retired” friends…and knowing that I can spend more time with my parents, my family, Sue, the kids and grandkids, will be the biggest blessing of all…

Obviously, this “should” mean a little more time for working on this blog, my photography, some musical endeavors, and my Civil War living history life…hopefully, I’ll get more than two or three posts on this site in 2013, as well as many more photos…

……………did you hear that?….

……a deep sigh of relief!

God Bless, Merry Christmas, and a very Happy New Year!

“Slim”

"The driveway awaits"

“The driveway awaits”

 

