Saturday, 2 April, 2011…

Sue and I[along with my Uncle Joe and Aunt Bonnie], boarded a bus very early in the morning for a one day trip to Washington, D.C….as with last years trip, it was well planned and organized by Mike and Mary Koma of Rural Valley, and is a great way to see historic America[with someone else driving!]…

"Mt. Vernon"

Mt. Vernon was first on the agenda, and despite some unpredictable and untimely weather issues, we were able to visit the estate of George and Martha Washington, inside and out…what a beautiful location, buildings and grounds…we were treated to a nice lunch, and the highlight of my first visit to Mt. Vernon was witnessing a wreath-laying ceremony at “General Washington’s” tomb…visitors get to take part in this event, which is brief, but very moving…

"General Washington's Tomb"

Then we reboarded our bus, which took us into the hallowed grounds of Arlington National Cemetery…what a breathtaking

"Arlington House"

site…tears ran down my cheeks as we climbed the steps to Arlington House, and the graves of so many Union Civil War soldiers…it was, after all, the Civil War which resulted in Arlington becoming a National Cemetery…the view of Washington from the mansion which

"2,111 Civil War Unknowns"

once belonged to Robert E. Lee’s wifes family, is truly beautiful…at times as we walked through the countless rows of graves, I found myself speechless, much the same as I felt when I stood in the National Cemetery in Andersonville…on a sad note, before leaving Arlington, I witnessed a group of youths putting on a display of disrespect which made my heart ache-obviously ignorant to the sacrifice made by those buried there…these things add to my desire to educate and demonstrate to the public what our forefathers endured to acquire and sustain our freedoms…

"Washington Quote"

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Photo Credits: All photos by R.J.”Slim”Bowser
